Venus Unwrapped: A Faster Pulse

Hall One, Kings Place i
Venus Unwrapped: A Faster Pulse
Benjamin Britten Simple Symphony
Witold Lutosławski Musique funèbre
Grażyna Bacewicz Concerto for String Orchestra
Grażyna Bacewicz Divertimento for String Orchestra
Henryk Górecki Three pieces in the old style
Edvard Grieg Holberg Suite
Eugene Lee Associate Leader

A force of nature, Polish composer Grażyna Bacewicz wrote seven violin concertos, eight quartets and four symphonies. ‘I run, not walk,’ she said. ‘I speak fast, even my pulse beats faster than normal.’ 

Lutosławski said, ‘She was born with an incredible wealth of musical talent, an almost fanatical zeal and unwavering faith in her mission.’ Asked if her music would last, he said ‘true judgement of creative ability does not belong to contemporary reviewers, but to thousands of audiences over many decades, which may be referred to as the jury of time.’ 

Fifty years since her death, judge this extraordinary artist for yourself as we take part in Kings Place's Venus Unwrapped series - unlocking the secret history of music by women. 

Part of Venus Unwrapped
Tickets £14.50-£29.50
Booking fee may apply
Book online now