The Modernists

St John's Smith Square i
The Modernists
Schoenberg (arr. Reynolds) Erwartung
Mahler (arr. Reynolds) Adagio from Symphony No. 10
Debussy (arr. Reynolds) Suite from Pelléas et Mélisande
Philippa Boyle soprano
Lee Reynolds conductor
What does it mean to be modern? 100 years on, Southbank Sinfonia explores three works from composers who challenged every preconceived notion about the music that preceded them, at a time when the art world was remaking itself anew.

An unnamed woman wonders through a moonlit forest in search of her lover. Delivered in one intensely demanding monologue for its soprano, Schoenberg’s Erwartung is a radical new vision of an opera. A psychologically fuelled work that demands everything from Wagnerian power to glistening string sounds, Schoenberg wrote that the aim of Erwartung was to “represent in slow motion everything that occurs during a single second of maximum spiritual excitement, stretching it to half an hour.”

Experience the mesmerising nature of this work by award-winning soprano, Philippa Boyle.

There will be a pre-concert talk at 18.10 with Lee Reynolds and Southbank Sinfonia musicians Francis Bushell and Maggie Lamelas.

Tickets £15
Booking fee may apply
Book online now

In Conversation

Southbank Sinfonia cellist, Hannah Scarborough, talks with soprano Philippa Boyle about 'Erwartung'.