Marlborough College Concert Series

Marlborough College i
Marlborough College Concert Series
Richard Strauss Horn Concerto No.1
Jean Sibelius Karelia Suite
Johannes Brahms Symphony No.1
Simon Over Conductor

Over 20 years in the making and with the heavy weight of anticipation resting upon his shoulders, Brahms’ first steps into the world of symphonic writing feel more like a triumphant leap in the great unknown. He booms onto the scene with a thundering heartbeat on the timpani, picking up where Beethoven left off in his final symphony. 

From mountaintops to valley lows, Strauss' concerto shows off the acrobatic qualitites of the horn. A fanfare from the same instrument then begins the folk-infused story of Karelia, a land of majestic beauty, bitterly fought over for centuries. Pivotal moments from its rich history are depicted by Sibelius.

Tickets £20
Booking fee may apply
Book online now