Marlborough College Concert Series

Marlborough College i
Marlborough College Concert Series
Antonín Dvořák Slavonic Dance No.8
Antonín Dvořák Violin Concerto
Antonín Dvořák Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op.95 'From the New World'
Simon Over Conductor
Martyn Jackson violin
Virtuosity, folk music, and imperishable energy. Dvořák finds both vibrancy and beauty in the expansive melodies of his Violin Concerto. Bringing this broad palette of colours to life is British violinist, Martyn Jackson, acclaimed by the Berliner Morgenpost as “a truly sensitive musician, impassioned playing, and utterly compelling”.

Dvořák is one of Europe’s most celebrated composers, and it’s not hard to hear why when his New World symphony sounds. From its earthy opening to the optimistic second movement and blazing finale, this symphony is packed with drama, nostalgia, hope, and rhythmic impetus.

But first, Dvořák ignites a boisterous spark with his Slavonic Dance No.8, a lively Bohemian dance propelled by cross rhythms.

Tickets £20
Booking fee may apply
Book online now