String Quartet

St John's Smith Square i
String Quartet
Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet in Eb major, Op.127

Flora Fontanelli VIOLIN
Eloise MacDonald VIOLIN
Georgie Davis VIOLA
Erlend Vestby CELLO

Join musicians from Southbank Sinfonia as they perform Beethoven's stunning String Quartet Op. 127 in E Flat Major. Written in 1825, Op. 127 is the first of Beethoven's collection of late string quartets, each of which is a masterpiece of the quartet repertoire and a significant departure from his previous style. The quartet was completed after the composition of Beethoven's Symphony No. 9, and although its first performance was described as incomprehensible, it subsequently stands as one of the greatest pieces ever written within the genre.

Part of the St John's Smith Square Lunchtime Concert Series
Tickets £10
Booking fee may apply
Book online now